Highlights from the Association of Black Nurses Faculty (ABNF) Conference

m Bookmark and Share
Highlights of the conference include:
  • Dr. Cynthia Archibald’s keynote address on how she links churches with her research on HIV AIDS prevention with youth and stays in the community of (South Miami and the Caribbean) to advocate for health promotion and education. Dr. Archibald’s work was funded by a NIH K-Award and published in the Journal of Cultural Diversity. Dr. Archibald has given presentations to the Congressional Black Caucus. If we had not been at a conference some of us wanted to shout, because she "made it plain" as the deacons would say of a well delivered and spirit filled message.

  • Dr. Gloria McNeal, Dean of the new Charles Drew University School of Nursing, presented the leadership address and gave a presentation on her work with the IOM and the Future of Nursing and presented opportunities for involvement with the work of the IOM and the Future of Nursing.

  • Dr. John Lowe presented a workshop on "Getting NIH Funding: Lessons Learned" and worked individually with workshop attendees. His stories made research grant writing fun, but more importantly he connected with the group and gave excellent information on the grant writing process using community based participatory approach. This research approach is one that our communities can work to decrease their health disparities.

  • Dr. Barbara Broom, who has a HRSA funded DNP psych-mental online program aimed at preparing NPs to decrease health disparities in underserved and minority populations, presented a workshop on "How to achieve Successful funding from HRSA. Dr. Broom has received millions of dollars in funding from HRSA for innovative programs for underserved populations. She is the Associate Dean of Community Health at University of South Alabama. Her generous sharing of examples from her own funded work was extremely beneficial. In addition, Dr. Broom worked with participants on an individual basis after her presentation.

  • Dr. Richardean Benjamin, Associate Dean of Old Dominion, presented the address at our Awards Gala honoring our founder, Dr. Sallie Tucker-Allen for 25+ years of the establishment of ABNF. Dr. Audwin Fletcher, University of Mississippi School of Nursing, gave a heartfelt tribute of appreciation regarding her work in supporting him and Black nursing faculty across the country with mentoring, publishing and research opportunities. Finally, ABNF and the Charles Drew School of Nursing and Medicine named an endowed chair in "Cultural Diversity" in her honor.

  • New president, Dr. Diana Jones, Department Chair and Director of Nursing, Slippery Rock University in Pennsylvania.